Current CPSIG Executive Committee:

  • Dr Elaine Burfitt (Chair)
  • Dr Rowena Yates (Treasurer)
  • Dr Michelle Cutland (rep on BACCH Exec)
  • Dr David Lewis
  • Dr Fawzia Rahman
  • Dr Shashwat Saran
  • Dr Sarah Boutros (Trainee rep)


The Child Protection Special Interest Group was established in the 1980s to provide a forum for paediatricians working in the field of child maltreatment. The group was to run in parallel with the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) -appointed Standing Committee on Child Protection. CPSIG now forms the practical and educational side of this group, complemented by the activities of the Child Protection committee. CPSIG is a special interest group of the British Association for Community Child Health (BACCH), and In 2005 was formally recognised as an independent special interest group affiliated to the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. CPSIG representatives sit on the BACCH Executive and RCPCH standing committee on Child Protection.


  • To keep Safeguarding as a compulsory component of paediatric practice.
  • To identify and discuss issues relating to Safeguarding and Child Protection; reporting to BACCH .
  • To ensure that there are regular multidisciplinary, national and regional, study days on child abuse and neglect including a regular session at the RCPCH annual spring meeting and the annual scientific meeting of BACCH.
  • To provide expertise clinical representation when needed to RCPCH CP Standing Committee
  • To provide a support network for colleagues and regional groups.
  • To encourage and support reflective clinical practice through national and regional meetings.
  • To encourage research into child abuse and neglect; and standard setting and audit.
  • To Promote close working relationships with relevant bodies

Page last updated 02.07.18